What If It's Us

What If It's Us

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
27
5
Arthur is in New York only for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it’s that the universe can deliver a showstopping romance when you least expect it. Ben thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn’t be on his way to the post office carrying a box of his ex-boyfriend’s things. But when Arthur and Ben meet-cute at the post office, what exactly does the universe have in store for them? Maybe nothing. After all, they get separated. Maybe everything. After all, they get reunited. But what if they can’t quite nail a first date, or a second first date, or a third? What if Arthur tries too hard to make it work and Ben doesn’t try hard enough? What if life really isn’t like a Broadway play? But what if it is?
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, 2018.
Additional Contributors: Silvera, Adam 1990-

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Reviews for Young Adults – October 2020

This month we start with a fantastic review of Loveless, a new book from the author of Heartstopper. We're pretty big fans of the series - and you too judging by the hold list! Loveless explores asexuality, a sexuality that doesn't appear too often in LGBTQIA+ literature. We've also got some recommendations for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Hate U Give, One Of Us Is Lying, and fantasy. Check out… (more)

New year, new reads for Young Adults!

New year, new reads! There is plenty to get excited about in 2020 as there are some highly anticipated sequels and releases hitting our library shelves. I've got a selection of books we're excited to see in 2020, as well as some booklists for you to check out. January is also the perfect time to think about starting a reading challenge. They're a great way to push yourself to try new genres… (more)


From Library Staff

Arthur is in New York only for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it’s that the universe can deliver a showstopping romance when you least expect it. Ben thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn’t be on his way to the post office ca... Read More »

A New York love story with a difference... Meet Ben and Arthur. What if Arthur tries too hard to make it work and Ben doesn't try hard enough? What if life really isn't like a Broadway play? But what if it is? What if it's us?


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
SAPL_Teens Aug 14, 2020

It was such a crazy ride. Like there were times when the main characters, Arthur and Ben did something soooooooo dumb, I just had to stop reading. But all in all it was such a cute heartfelt novel. 5/5 stars - SAPL Teen Read It & Review Contributor

d
devanshi_bhargava
Aug 07, 2020

Aruthur is entranced by the magic of New York City, even though he's just here for the summer to intern at his mother's law firm. That doesn't mean that he's still not a firm believer of all things romantic and dramatic. Ben, on the other hand, is living a less-than-magical life, having just gotten through a breakup and is now sentenced to spending summer school with the other person involved in said break-up. When these two boys have a chance meeting outside of the post office, only to be broken apart again, they believe it could very well be a case of the universe sending them a message. In the end, it's up to them to decide whether or not they could have a chance at becoming something for real, before their time runs out.
This book was a sweet and enjoyable read about the romantic adventures of two boys trying to make the most of their time together. There were many things to enjoy about this book. First of all, it was very friendly in terms of diversity. The two main characters were, after all, Hispanic and Jew respectively, both being members of the LGBTQA+ community. The beginning of the book leading up to them finding each other (after initially being seperated) was very cute to read, and the way the novel handled the issue of losing one's virginity was realistic and non-explicit (keeping in mind the teenage audience). It's tone was lighthearted and playful throughout.
However, at some points I found myself counting down the pages until it was over. For the first half of the book, I couldn't distinguish between Ben and Arthur, for they had no individual voice. The pop-culture references, while relatable for the first part, quickly became overwhelming with the sheer amount of times they were used. Finally, there seemed to hardly be any chemistry between the main characters, and other than their on-again off-again romance spurred by petty arguments, there was no other engaging plot. The efforts of the authors are clearly shown, but there have been better books.

a
audmel65
Jun 08, 2020

As an adult I enjoyed this and would recommend to young readers to understand relationships!

CCPL_Teens May 07, 2020

A cute, quirky romance with realistic struggles and solutions that doesn't disappoint. Not only does it show their relationship struggles, it also shows the struggles of friendship as each of the boys' friends get involved in their summer. With a diverse cast of characters, the comedy and pop culture references bring charm to this already interesting love story.

x
xcarex
Jan 06, 2020

So, I've read this book multiple times now, so it's safe to say that Ioved it. The audiobook voice actors are pitch-perfect for the characters, and when I've read the physical book, I still hear their voices in my head. Arthur and Ben aren't perfect, but I root for them every time. I agree that the ending is a bit upsetting, but that's what fanfiction is for. I wrote my own ending, you can too.

n
nbartos
Sep 16, 2019

I get why people feel just so-so about this book, but I absolutely loved it. I am absolutely in love with Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, so honestly, I'm bound to love anything they write, but having something co-written by them that so clearly captures both of their voices is just perfect.
Does that mean that the book is perfect? No, not necessarily, but I think it's perfect for me.
I've heard the criticism that the balancing of the authors' voices takes away the best part of each of them, but I think it's the blend of their writing styles that makes this book so laugh-out-loud funny, relatably awkward, and reading-through-your-tears sad.
It's truly such a bittersweet book, and I fell in love with both of the leads, and I think this book is just perfect for a movie, so I'm so excited for the adaptation.
Lastly, the voice actors for the audio book do such an amazing job, so I highly recommend going that route if you're able; it is one of the best audio books I've heard.
Overall, highly recommend if you like these authors or you're craving a rom-com with lots of ups and downs.
PS please give me an entire book of the paralegal girls, thanks.

t
terryginz
Jul 16, 2019

I want to say this in the very beginning that I am underwhelmed. While I have never read anything from Becky Albertalli, I still had high expectations from this because Adam Silvera has co-written this but I am disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's still somewhat enjoyable and has some really cute and funny moments but that's it. It has no base, just one month in the lives of two guys is what makes this book.

I didn't connect with any of the main characters and out of the other characters, I liked Dylan and Samantha's characters and also Namrata and Juliet. This obviously had a lot of diversity which was a really good thing but not much else that I liked. The main characters' parents were also good but they were rarely there except to just roll the story along I guess.

I really really wanted to like this and had expected a great deal but nothing of the sort happened and honestly it pains me to write this review and give 2 stars to Adam Silvera's book but it is what it is.

d
dafor001
Jul 10, 2019

This book really touched my heart I loved it because of how real it was. Like most people I thought the ending was really sad and wrong for a while but now see how it shouldn't have to be a happy ending. I t took me a very long time to hold it together and read the epilogue. I loved all the characters, they were all very likable it really touched me how much I could relate to them. I plan to read more of the two authors books and I hope this book helps other the way it helped me.

-Althea Forstner

t
The_Zookeeper
May 23, 2019

What a sweet book with a whole boatload of hope.

TSCPL_Miranda May 06, 2019

A missed connection leads to a Cinderella-style search and a love story in this collaboration between two star YA authors. I adored both of the main characters, and most of the supporting cast, and I didn't want to put this down. I really appreciated the emphasis on the importance of friendship, and I have a lot of respect for the ending, which was upbeat and hopeful but also realistic. Once again, Becky Albertalli hit it out of the park!

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
d
DRACULA_GIRL1
Feb 24, 2020

DRACULA_GIRL1 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

t
Thessa
Sep 17, 2019

Thessa thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

v
VidishaG
Apr 22, 2019

VidishaG thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

k
katelyn_grace
Feb 02, 2019

katelyn_grace thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

k
Kyanite
Dec 18, 2018

Kyanite thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top