Dancing at the Pity Party

Dancing at the Pity Party

A Dead Mom Graphic Memoir

Book - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
1
Part poignant cancer memoir and part humorous reflection on a motherless life, this debut graphic novel is extraordinarily comforting and engaging. From before her mother's first oncology appointment through the stages of her cancer to the funeral, sitting shiva, and afterward, when she must try to make sense of her life as a motherless daughter, Tyler Feder tells her story in this graphic novel that is full of piercing, but also often funny, details. She shares the important post-death firsts, such as celebrating holidays without her mom, the utter despair of cleaning out her mom's closet, ending old traditions and starting new ones, and the sting of having the "I've got to tell Mom about this" instinct and not being able to act on it. This memoir, bracingly candid and sweetly humorous, is for anyone struggling with loss who just wants someone to get it.
Publisher: New York :, Dial Books,, [2020]
©2020
Branch Call Number: 362.175 FED
Characteristics: 201 pages :,chiefly illustrations ;,24 cm.

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Reviews for Young Adults – October 2020

This month we start with a fantastic review of Loveless, a new book from the author of Heartstopper. We're pretty big fans of the series - and you too judging by the hold list! Loveless explores asexuality, a sexuality that doesn't appear too often in LGBTQIA+ literature. We've also got some recommendations for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Hate U Give, One Of Us Is Lying, and fantasy. Check out… (more)


From Library Staff

A story of loss, love and motherlessness told through expressive beautiful illustrations. This is Tyler Feder's experience losing her mother to Cancer, and life after. A powerful read that'll have you laughing and crying.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
klbrooker40
Sep 30, 2020

Even though this graphic novel made me cry a couple of times, I absolutely loved it! So clear, and on the money when it comes to how it feels when you lose someone you love.

CCPL_Teens Sep 17, 2020

Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder is a graphic novel about terminal illness and the loss of a loved one. The book chronicles Feder’s mom and her battle with cancer. For a book about death, it’s surprisingly witty as Feder uses humor as a coping mechanism. The book is both a portrait of Feder’s mom and a reflection on the roles mothers play in our lives. Feder illustrates how anchoring this relationship could be even after death. In addition to humor, the book uses bright colors and playful text to alleviate its sadder tones. Feder’s drawing style reminds me of Victoria Jamieson’s books Roller Girl and All’s Faire in Middle School. Readers who enjoy these titles may also enjoy this book, as well.

s
suruhjo
Jul 24, 2020

This book was phenomenal. It felt like Tyler Feder hugged me and said, "It sucks, I know." A great book to read if you or someone you know has lost someone.

LPL_MaryW Mar 08, 2020

When Tyler Feder was a sophomore in college, her mom died. It was devastating and awful and awkward and messy, and she details her experiences during that time in her graphic memoir, which is also a beautiful love letter to her mom, whom she obviously adored. Dancing at the Pity Party is not a survival guide, but a survivor’s guide—I loved Feder’s tips on how to support grievers and the attractive, whimsical illustrations that filled each page. With unexpected humor and grace, this book is a total package of comfort and melancholy (and not in a way that will depress you). So special!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
lvccld_judi Apr 21, 2020

lvccld_judi thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top