Lost Mountain

Lost Mountain

A Year in the Vanishing Wilderness : Radical Strip Mining, and the Devastation of Appalachia

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"Erik Reece issues a stinging account and an inspiring call to arms to defend one of America's most threatened natural treasures." "The mountains of Appalachia are home to one of the great forests of the world - scientists refer to it as the "rainforest" of North America because it predates the Ice Age and continues to host a remarkable density of diverse species. These mountains also hold the mother lode of American coal, and the coal-mining industry has long been the economic backbone for families in a region hard-pressed for other job opportunities. But now, with the advent of radical strip mining, aka "mountaintop removal," it takes no more than ten men and some heavy machinery to blast off the top of a mountain, dump it in the valley below, and scoop out the coal. The economic and environmental consequences are devastating on an unprecedented scale." "Erik Reece chronicles the year he spent witnessing the systematic decimation of a single mountain, aptly named Lost Mountain. He makes evident that strip mining is not just a local concern or a radical issue, but a mainstream crisis that involves everything from corporate hubris and government neglect to species extinction and poisoned groundwater to class conflict and landscape destruction."--BOOK JACKET.
Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, 2006.
ISBN: 9781594489082
1594489084
Branch Call Number: 622.2 REE
Characteristics: xv, 250 p. :,ill. ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lukasevansherman
Aug 07, 2017

"When they want you to die for profit they will let you know."-Wendell Berry
When most people hear Appalachia, they probably think bucolic forests, folk music, and scenic hiking. But there's something much darker and more destructive going on, which Erik Reece explores in this book, which mixes reportage, personal essay, and nature writing in the tradition of Edward Abbey and Wendell Berry, who contributes the introduction. Reece chronicles the profitable and harmful process of mountain removal, which literally takes the top off a mountain to uncover the coal underneath. As he makes clear, these mountains, forests, and streams that are harmed are never recovering. It's an impassioned and eye-opening book. Reece is from Kentucky, so he has a personal connection to the land. As our president tries to continue our dependence on coal, this is a necessary read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top